Lonely City Suite (solo snare drum)




Written by Jason Baker for solo snare drum.

Written in three movements, Lonely City Suite is an outstanding new solo for concert snare drum. It requires a virtuosic approach to the instrument and demands a high level of technical proficiency towards extreme dynamics and touch. The first movement, "Another Day in the Back Bay," combines techniques found in many orchestral snare drum etudes and "groove-like" micro-temporal structures. The second movement, "Things Fall Apart," is intended to be a mixed-meter funeral march. The third movement, "Last One Out," is in short rondo form (A-B-A-C-A) with the content of the "B" and "C" sections consisting of expanding rhythmic cells. Lonely City Suite comes as a professionally bound folio, and is not available as downloadable merchandise.

  • Grade: 6
  • Pages: 8
  • Duration: 3:30 minutes

Shipping is UPS Ground (2-5 days delivery)

Jason Baker

No posts found